The Wiley Foundation: Endowing the Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences

About the Wiley Foundation

Since 2002, the annual Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences, awarded by the Wiley Foundation, has recognized breakthrough research in pure or applied life science research. We seek to honor research that is distinguished by its excellence, originality and impact on our understanding of biological systems and processes.

In the past, the Wiley Prize has recognized a specific contribution or series of contributions that demonstrate significant leadership in the development of research concepts or their clinical application. Particular emphasis is placed on research that champions novel approaches and challenges accepted thinking in the biomedical sciences.

Past prize winners have submitted their breakthrough research in areas as diverse as genetics, cell motility, folded proteins and siRNA. Our impressive list of past recipients includes winners of the Nobel Prize and the Lasker Prize in basic medical research.

The Wiley Foundation invites and encourages the nomination of exceptional scientists or research teams whose work has achieved an impressive level of excellence.

Each year the Wiley Foundation accepts outside nominations for its Prize. The deadline for submission is July 31. Each nomination should be submitted by someone other than the nominee, more than one nomination can be made from the same organization and we encourage international nominations.

This international award is presented annually and consists of a $35,000 prize and a luncheon in honor of the recipient. This year, the award will be presented on April 11 at The Rockefeller University where the recipient will deliver an honorary lecture as part of The Rockefeller University Lecture Series.


Announcing the Winners
of the 2014 Wiley Prize

The winners of the 2014 Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences, William G. Kaelin, Jr., Steven McKnight, Peter J. Ratcliffe, and Gregg L. Semenza, were honored for their work in oxygen sensing systems. Videos of their talks at The Rockefeller University are now available via the links below.

Intro: Deborah Wiley
Lecture: Dr. William Kaelin
Lecture: Dr. Steven McKnight
Lecture: Dr. Peter Ratcliffe
Lecture: Dr. Gregg L. Semenza

Full press release

Copyright © 2001-2009 John Wiley & Sons, Inc. All rights reserved.