Print this page Share

Advances in Chemical Physics, Volume 159

Paul Brumer (Editor), Stuart A. Rice (Series Editor), Aaron R. Dinner (Series Editor)
ISBN: 978-1-119-09626-9
432 pages
April 2016
Advances in Chemical Physics, Volume 159 (111909626X) cover image


This volume of Advances in Chemical Physics is dedicated, by the contributors, to Moshe Shapiro, formerly Canada Research Chair in Quantum Control in the Department of Chemistry at the University of British Columbia and Jacques Mimran Professor of Chemical Physics at the Weizmann Institute, who passed away on December 3, 2013. It focuses primarily on the interaction of light with molecules, one of Moshe’s longstanding scientific loves. However, the wide range of topics covered in this volume constitutes but a small part of Moshe’s vast range of scientific interests, which are well documented in over 300 research publications and two books.
See More

Table of Contents

Contributors to Volume 159 ix

Preface to the Series xi

Dynamics of Photochemical Reactions of Organic Carbonyls and their Clusters 1
by Dorit Shemesh and R. Benny Gerber

Photoinduced Bond Cleavage as a Probe of Mode Specificity and Intramolecular Dynamics in Rovibrationally Excited Triatomic to 10 Atom Molecules 23
by Salman Rosenwaks and Ilana Bar

Controlling Quantum Dynamics with Assisted Adiabatic Processes 51
by Shumpei Masuda and Stuart A. Rice

From Coherent to Incoherent Dynamical Control of Open Quantum Systems 137
by Gershon Kurizki and Analia Zwick

Piecewise Adiabatic Passage in Polarization Optics: an Achromatic Polarization Rotator 219
by Bruce W. Shore, Andon Rangelov, Nikolay V. Vitanov and Klaas Bergmann

Ultrafast and Efficient Control of Coherent Electron Dynamics via SPODS 235
by Tim Bayer, Matthias Wollenhaupt, Hendrike Braun and Thomas Baumert

Toward Coherent Control Around the Quantum-Classical Boundary 283
by Hiroyuki Katsuki and Kenji Ohmori

Effects of Electromagnetic Fields on Molecular Scattering 313
by R. V. Krems

Quantum Dynamics by Partitioning Technique 349
by Ioannis Thanopulos

Laser Control of Ultrafast Molecular Rotation 395
by Valery Milner and John W. Hepburn

Index 413

See More

Author Information

Paul Brumer is Professor of the Department of Chemistry at the University of Toronoto, and is one of the world's leading theoretical chemists. He has been at the forefront of two major areas in chemical physics: using nonlinear mechanics to understand molecular dynamics, and controlling chemical reactions with lasers. He has been an A.P. Sloan Foundation Fellow and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, the Chemical Institute of Canada and the American Physical Society. He has received two Canada Council Killam Research Fellowships and is one of the youngest recipients of the CIC Palladium Medal, the highest award of the Chemical Institute of Canada. He was the recipient of the prestigious 2000 Killam Memorial Prize in Physical Sciences and is currently the Roel Buck Chair in Chemical Physics.

Stuart A. Rice received his master's and doctorate from Harvard University and was a Junior Fellow at Harvard for two years before joining the faculty of The University of Chicago in 1957 where he remains a well-known theoretical chemist who also does experimental research and is currently the Frank P. Hixon Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus at The University of Chicago. Professor Rice has served the university in a wide variety of capacities during his forty-eight year tenure. He served as the director of the James Franck Institute (the university's center for physical chemistry and condensed matter physics) from 1961 to 1967, was Chairman of the Department of Chemistry from 1971 to 1976 and was Dean of the Physical Sciences Division from 1981 to 1995. In 1999 he received the National Medal of Science.

Aaron R. Dinner received his bachelor's degree and doctorate from Harvard University, after which he conducted postdoctoral research at the University of Oxford and the University of California, Berkely. He joined the faculty at the University of Chicago in 2003 and is the Principal Investigator of The Dinner Group, which develops and applies theoretical methods for relating cellular behavior to molecular properties.

See More

Related Titles

Back to Top