Print this page Share

Media Toolkit

Contact the Publicist

Contact Publicity to:

  • Request an Interview
  • Request a Review Copy
October 04, 2011

Nobel Prize in Physics for 2011 Awarded to Wiley Authors

John Wiley & Sons, Inc., (NYSE:JWa) (NYSE:JWb), is pleased to learn that the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2011 with one half to Professor Saul Perlmutter and the other half to Professors Brian P. Schmidt and Adam G. Riess.

Professor Saul Perlmutter, of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and University of California, Berkeley, USA; Professor Brian P. Schmidt, of Australian National University, Weston Creek, Australia; and Professor Adam G. Riess; of Johns Hopkins University and Space Telescope Science Institute, Baltimore, USA, were awarded the Nobel Prize for the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the Universe through observations of distant supernovae; all are published Wiley authors.

"We are honored to be able to count Professors Perlmutter, Schmidt and Riess among our authors and congratulate the laureates for this recognition of their work and discoveries, which changed our view of the universe," said Dr. Jon Walmsley, Vice President & Managing Director, Physical Science.

All three laureates have written articles for the Wiley journals Annals of the NY Academy of Science and Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society.

Professors Perlmutter, Schmidt and Riess join a selection of Wiley authors who have won Nobel Prizes and this year’s award means that there are a total of 79 laureates in Physics who have published with Wiley.