Skip to main content

A Living Lens: Photographs of Jewish Life from the Pages of the Forward

A Living Lens: Photographs of Jewish Life from the Pages of the Forward

Alana Newhouse (Editor), Pete Hamill (Introduction)

ISBN: 978-0-393-33391-6

*Norton agency titles

320 pages

Select type: Paperback

Product not available for purchase

Description

The finest photographic account of Jewish life in America.

This extraordinary volume features classic photographs of the history one has learned to associate with the Forward—Lower East Side pushcarts, Yiddish theater, labor rallies—along with gems no one would expect. The premiere national Jewish newspaper has opened up its never-before-seen archives, revealing a photographic landscape of Jews in the twentieth century and beyond. From shtetl beauty contests and matchmakers caught mid-deal to the streets of the New World; from diaspora communities and mandate Palestine to the Holocaust, the Soviet Jewry movement, and the emergence of Jewish suburbia; from Paul Muni and Barbra Streisand to Woody Allen and Madonna—this book is a kaleidoscopic array of modern Jewish life. Original essays are included by leading intellectuals and historians, including Leon Wieseltier, J. Hoberman, Roger Kahn, and Deborah E. Lipstadt, plus an introduction by Pete Hamill. A great gift book in the tradition of Roman Vishniac's A Vanished World and Frederic Brenner's Diaspora: Homelands in Exile. 531 duotone photographs.

'Not only an amazing book, but an invaluable artifact and a work of art.'—Jonathan Safran Foer