Skip to main content

Anton Chekhov's Selected Plays, 2nd Revised Edition

Anton Chekhov's Selected Plays, 2nd Revised Edition

Anton Chekhov, Laurence Senelick

ISBN: 978-0-393-92465-7

*Norton agency titles

120 pages

Select type: Paperback

Product not available for purchase


This Norton Critical Edition includes five of Chekhov's major plays—Ivanov, The Seagull, Uncle Vanya, Three Sisters, and The Cherry Orchard—and three early one-act farces that inform his later work—The Bear, The Wedding, and The Celebration. Laurence Senelick's masterful translations closely preserve Chekhov's singular style—his abundant jokes and literary allusions and his careful use of phrase repetition to bind the plays together.

"Letters" is the largest collection of Chekhov's commentary on his plays ever to appear in an English-language edition.

"Criticism" includes eleven essays by leading European and Russian Chekhov scholars, most appearing in English for the first time, including those by Boris Zingerman, Maria Deppermann, and Lev Shestor. This volume also provides discussion of Chekhov's plays by some of the twentieth century's great directors, including Konstantin Stanislavsky, Peter Brook, and Mark Rozovsky.