Skip to main content

Cognitive Behavioural Therapy Workbook For Dummies



Cognitive Behavioural Therapy Workbook For Dummies

Rhena Branch, Rob Willson

ISBN: 978-1-119-99218-9 December 2010 322 Pages


CBT is a proven and effective approach to mastering your thoughts, and here the authors of Cognitive Behavioural Therapy For Dummies show you step-by-step how to put the lessons of their book into practice.

Inside you’ll find a huge number of hands-on exercises and techniques to help you remove roadblocks to change - whether you’re seeking to overcome anxiety and depression, boost self-esteem, lose weight, beat addiction or simply improve your outlook in your professional and personal life – and regain control over your life.

Rhena Branch and Rob Willson are CBT therapists at the Priory Clinic in London, and the authors of Cognitive Behavioural Therapy For Dummies.


Part 1: Pinpointing Primary Principles.

Chapter 1: Linking your Feelings to your Thinking.

Chapter 2: Recognising Problematic Thinking Patterns.

Chapter 3: Taking Toxic Thinking in Hand.

Chapter 4: Experiencing Experiments.

Chapter 5: Where's Your Head At!? Controlling Your Concentration.

Part 2: Pinning Down Problems and Giving Yourself Goals.

Chapter 6: Getting Emotional.

Chapter 7: Targeting Troublesome Tactics.

Chapter 8: Getting Goal Directed.

Part 3: Putting CBT into Practice.

Chapter 9: Taking an Axe to Anxiety .

Chapter 10: Dealing a Blow to Depression .

Chapter 11: Techniques to Trounce all Over Obsessions.

Chapter 12: Lifting Low Self Esteem.

Chapter 13: Making friends and Maintaining Relationships.

Part 4: Forging into the Future.

Chapter 14: Examining Long-Standing Beliefs.

Chapter 15: Consolidating Conviction in New Core Beliefs.

Chapter 16: Delving into Personal Development.

Chapter 17: Rupturing Roadblocks to Recovery.

Chapter 18: Putting into Practice Principles that Promote Positive Living.

Part 5: The Part of Tens.

Chapter 19: Ten Tips for Working with Professionals.

Chapter 20: Ten Tips for Getting a Good Nights Sleep.

Chapter 21: Ten reasons to never give up.