Skip to main content

Have Fun with the Presidents: Activities, Projects, and Fascinating Facts

Have Fun with the Presidents: Activities, Projects, and Fascinating Facts

David C. King

ISBN: 978-0-471-67905-9 January 2007 Jossey-Bass 132 Pages


In Stock



It’s important to learn about the U.S. presidents, but it’s even better to have fun while doing it. Have Fun with the Presidents is filled with activities, recipes, games, puzzles, profiles, quotes, and fascinating facts, about all 42 American presidents, from George Washington to George W. Bush.

You will learn all kinds of interesting things about the presidents, their families, and the times in which they lived, but this is much more than just a book of facts.  The games and activities in Have Fun with the Presidents will give you a better understanding of each president’s important contributions, interesting hobbies, and unique personality.

In Have Fun with the Presidents you will learn that

  • Herbert Hoover and his wife spoke Chinese in the White House as a way of maintaining their privacy
  • Dwight Eisenhower was an enthusiastic cook who loved grilling on the roof of the White House
  • Two of Theodore Roosevelt’s sons managed to sneak a pony into a White House elevator so they could take it to their sick brother’s bedroom
  • George H.W. Bush hated broccoli so much he had it banned from the White House kitchen
  • And much more!

George Washington (First President, 1789–1797).

John Adams (Second President, 1797–1801).

Thomas Jefferson (Third President, 1801–1809).

James Madison (Fourth President, 1809–1817).

James Monroe (Fifth President, 1817–1825).

John Quincy Adams (Sixth President, 1825–1829).

Andrew Jackson (Seventh President, 1829–1837).

Martin Van Buren (Eighth President, 1837–1841).

William Henry Harrison (Ninth President, March–April 1841).

John Tyler (Tenth President, 1841–1845).

James Knox Polk (Eleventh President, 1845–1849).

Zachary Taylor (Twelfth President, 1849–1850).

Millard Fillmore (Thirteenth President, 1850–1853).

Franklin Pierce (Fourteenth President, 1853–1857).

James Buchanan (Fifteenth President, 1857–1861).

Abraham Lincoln (Sixteenth President, 1861–1865).

Andrew Johnson (Seventeenth President, 1865–1869).

Ulysses S. Grant (Eighteenth President, 1869–1877).

Rutherford B. Hayes (Nineteenth President, 1877–1881).

James A. Garfield (Twentieth President, 1881).

Chester A. Arthur (Twenty-first President, 1881–1885).

Grover Cleveland (Twenty-second President, 1885–1889; Twenty-fourth President, 1893–1897).

Benjamin Harrison (Twenty-third President, 1889–1893).

William McKinley (Twenty-fifth President, 1897–1901).

Theodore Roosevelt (Twenty-sixth President, 1901–1909).

William Howard Taft (Twenty-seventh President, 1909–1913).

Woodrow Wilson (Twenty-eighth President, 1913–1921).

Warren Gamaliel Harding (Twenty-ninth President, 1921–1923).

Calvin Coolidge (Thirtieth President, 1923–1929).

Herbert Hoover (Thirty-first President, 1929–1933).

Franklin Delano Roosevelt (Thirty-second President, 1933–1945).

Harry S Truman (Thirty-third President, 1945–1953).

Dwight David Eisenhower (Thirty-fourth President, 1953–1961).

John Fitzgerald Kennedy (Thirty-fifth President, 1961–1963).

Lyndon Baines Johnson (Thirty-sixth President, 1963–1969).

Richard Milhous Nixon (Thirty-seventh President, 1969–1974).

Gerald Rudolph Ford (Thirty-eighth President, 1974–1977).

Jimmy (James Earl) Carter, Jr. (Thirty-ninth President, 1977–1981).

Ronald Wilson Reagan (Fortieth President, 1981–1989).

George Herbert Walker Bush (Forty-first President, 1989–1993).

Bill (William Jefferson) Clinton (Forty-second President, 1993–2001).

George Walker Bush (Forty-third President, 2001–).