Skip to main content

Principles and Practice of Clinical Bacteriology, 2nd Edition



Principles and Practice of Clinical Bacteriology, 2nd Edition

Stephen Gillespie (Editor), Peter M. Hawkey (Editor)

ISBN: 978-0-470-03532-0 May 2006 620 Pages


Since the publication of the last edition of Principles and Practice of Clinical Bacteriology, our understanding of bacterial genetics and pathogenicity has been transformed due to the availability of whole genome sequences and new technologies such as proteomics and transcriptomics. The present, completely revised second edition of this greatly valued work has been developed to integrate this new knowledge in a clinically relevant manner.

Principles and Practice of Clinical Bacteriology, Second Edition, provides the reader with invaluable information on the parasitology, pathogenesis, epidemiology and treatment strategies for each pathogen while offering a succinct outline of the best current methods for diagnosis of human bacterial diseases.

With contributions from an international team of experts in the field, this book is an invaluable reference work for all clinical microbiologists, infectious disease physicians, public health physicians and trainees within these disciplines.

List of Contributors.



1 Beta-Haemolytic Streptococci (Androulla Efstratiou, Shiranee Sriskandan, Theresa Lamagni and Adrian Whatmore).

2 Oral and Other Non-Beta-Haemolytic Streptococci (Roderick McNab and Theresa Lamagni).

3 Streptococcus pneumoniae (Indran Balakrishnan).

4 Enterococcus spp. (Esteban C. Nannini and Barbara E. Murray).

5 Staphylococcus aureus (Sharon Peacock).

6 Coagulase-Negative Staphylococci (Roger G. Finch).


7 Corynebacterium spp. (Aruni De Zoysa and Androulla Efstratiou).

8 Listeria and Erysipelothrix spp. (Kevin G. Kerr).

9 Bacillus spp. and Related Genera (Niall A. Logan and Marina Rodríguez-Díaz).

10 Mycobacterium tuberculosis (Stephen H. Gillespie).

11 Non-Tuberculosis Mycobacteria (Stephen H. Gillespie).

12 Aerobic Actinomycetes (Stephen H. Gillespie).


13 Moraxella catarrhalis and Kingella kingae (Alex van Belkum and Cees M. Verduin).

14 Neisseria meningitidis (Dlawer A. A. Ala’Aldeen and David P. J. Turner).

15 Neisseria gonorrhoeae (Catherine A. Ison).

16 Acinetobacter spp. (Peter Hawkey and Eugenie Bergogne-Berezin).

17 Haemophilus spp. (Derrick W. Crook and Derek W. Hood).

18 Bordetella spp. (Qiushui He, Jussi Mertsola and Matti K. Viljanen).

19 Brucella spp. (Edward J. Young).

20 Actinobacillus actinomycetemcomitans (Brian Henderson and Derren Ready).

21 Francisella tularensis (Petra C. F. Oyston).

22 Rickettsia spp. (James G. Olson, Franca R. Jones and Patrick J. Blair).

23 Bartonella spp. (J. M. Rolain and D. Raoult).

24 Mycoplasma spp. (Christiane Bébéar, Sabine Pereyre and Cécile M. Bébéar).

25 Chlamydia spp. and Related Organisms (S. J. Furrows and G. L. Ridgway).

26 Tropheryma whipplei (F. Fenollar and D. Raoult).

27 Identification of Enterobacteriaceae (Peter M. Hawkey).

28 Escherichia coli and Shigella spp. (Christopher L. Baylis, Charles W. Penn, Nathan M. Thielman, Richard L. Guerrant, Claire Jenkins and Stephen H. Gillespie).

29 Salmonella spp. (Claire Jenkins and Stephen H. Gillespie).

30 Klebsiella, Citrobacter, Enterobacter and Serratia spp. (C. Anthony Hart).

31 Donovanosis and Klebsiella spp. (John Richens).

32 Proteus, Providencia and Morganella spp. (Peter M. Hawkey).

33 Yersinia spp. (M. B. Prentice).

34 Vibrio spp. (Tom Cheasty).

35 Aeromonas and Plesiomonas spp. (Alpana Bose).

36 Pseudomonas and Burkholderia spp. (Tyrone L. Pitt and Andrew J. H. Simpson).

37 Legionella spp. (T. G. Harrison).

38 Coxiella burnetii (James G. Olson, Franca R. Jones and Patrick J. Blair).


39 Leptospira spp. (P. N. Levett).

40 Helicobacter spp. and Related Organisms (Peter J. Jenks).

41 Campylobacter and Arcobacter spp. (Diane E. Taylor and Monika Keelan).

42 Treponemes (Andrew J. L. Turner).

43 Borrelia spp. (Sudha Pabbatireddy and Benjamin J. Luft).


44 Anaerobic Cocci (D. A. Murdoch).

45 Non-Sporing Gram-Negative Anaerobes (Sheila Patrick and Brian I. Duerden).

46 Clostridium difficile (Mark H. Wilcox).

47 Other Clostridium spp. (Ian R. Poxton).

48 Anaerobic Actinomycetes and Related Organisms (Val Hall).