Skip to main content

Symphony No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 98

Symphony No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 98

Johannes Brahms, Kenneth Hull

ISBN: 978-0-393-96677-0

*Norton agency titles

352 pages

Select type: Paperback

Product not available for purchase


Highlights of the Norton Critical Score of Symphony No. 4:

  • The first edition of the score with Brahm's corrections incorporated
  • Historical background
  • Correspondence before publication
  • Reviews of first and early performances

Analysis and criticism by music scholars, including: Hugo Riemann, "Johannes Brahms, Fourth Symphony in E-minor" (1897); Heinrich Schenker, from Free Composition (1935); Rene Leibowitz, "Aimez-vous Brahms?" (1971); Walter Frisch, from Brahms: The Four Symphonies (1996); Raymond Knapp, from Brahms and the Cahllenge of the Symphony (1997).