Skip to main content

The JCMS Annual Review of the European Union in 2011

The JCMS Annual Review of the European Union in 2011

Nathaniel Copsey (Editor), Tim Haughton (Editor)

ISBN: 978-1-444-36699-0

Oct 2012, Wiley-Blackwell

232 pages

Select type: Paperback

Out of stock



The Annual Review, produced in association with JCMS, The Journal of Common Market Studies, covers the key developments in the European Union, its member states, and acceding and/or applicant countries in 2011.
  • Includes specially commissioned articles by Douglas Hurd, Willem Buiter, Daniel Gros and Erik Jones.
  • Contains analytical articles and keynote contributions written by leading experts in their respective fields covering political, economic and legal issues
  • The most up-to-date and authoritative source of information for those engaged in teaching and research or who are simply interested in the European Union
  • Includes an invaluable guide to EU documents and publications - and the various websites of the EU - together with a chronology of key events

Editorial: Desperate, but not Serious – The EU in 2011 (Nathaniel Copsey and Tim Haughton)

1. The ECB as Lender of Last Resort (Willem Buiter and Ebrahim Rahbari)

2. On the Stability of Public Debt in a Monetary Union (Daniel Gros)

3. 1989: The Missed Opportunity (Douglas Hurd)

4. The JCMS Annual Review Lecture (Erik Jones)

5. The Hungarian Rhapsodies (Attila Ágh)

6. Poland in the Driving Seat (Karolina Pomorska and Sophie Vanhoonacker)

7. Governance and Institutions (Desmond Dinan)

8. Internal Market (James Buckley, David Howarth and Lucia Quaglia)

9. Justice and Home Affairs (Jörg Monar)

10. Legal Developments (Fabian Amtenbrink)

11. The Arab Spring, the Eurozone Crisis and the Neighbourhood (Richard G. Whitman and Ana E. Juncos)

12. Relations with the Rest of the World (David Allen and Michael Smith)

13. The Eurozone in 2011 (Dermot Hodson)

14. Economies of Member States Outside the Eurozone (Richard Connolly)

15. Chronology: The European Union in 2011 (Fabian Guy Neuner)