Skip to main content

The PGA Championship: The Season's Final Major

The PGA Championship: The Season's Final Major

ISBN: 978-1-932-20208-3

May 2004

256 pages

Select type: Hardcover


Product not available for purchase


On Sunday at the PGA, golfers face their last opportunity to win a major each year, and the whole world is watching. Begun in 1916 with a mere 31 players, the Championship annually attracts a quarter of a million spectators and has been won by the biggest names in golf--Walter Hagen, Ben Hogan, Byron Nelson, Lee Trevino, Nick Price, and Tiger Woods.

Foreword by Jack Nicklaus.

Chapter One: An Auspicious Beginning.

Chapter Two: The Making of a Major.

Chapter Three: Golf’s Golden Fleece.

Chapter Four: The Giants of the Game.

Chapter Five: The PGA Championship in the Age of Television.

Chapter Six: The March of the Golden Bear.

Chapter Seven: Sunday at the PGA.

Chapter Eight: Glory’s Last Shot.


The PGA Championship Record Book.

A History of the Season’s Final Major: A Traveling Exhibition.

The PGA Historical Center.