Skip to main content

The Web Application Hacker's Handbook: Discovering and Exploiting Security Flaws

The Web Application Hacker's Handbook: Discovering and Exploiting Security Flaws

Dafydd Stuttard, Marcus Pinto

ISBN: 978-0-470-17077-9

Oct 2007

768 pages

Select type: Paperback

Product not available for purchase


This book is a practical guide to discovering and exploiting security flaws in web applications. The authors explain each category of vulnerability using real-world examples, screen shots and code extracts. The book is extremely practical in focus, and describes in detail the steps involved in detecting and exploiting each kind of security weakness found within a variety of applications such as online banking, e-commerce and other web applications.

The topics covered include bypassing login mechanisms, injecting code, exploiting logic flaws and compromising other users. Because every web application is different, attacking them entails bringing to bear various general principles, techniques and experience in an imaginative way. The most successful hackers go beyond this, and find ways to automate their bespoke attacks. This handbook describes a proven methodology that combines the virtues of human intelligence and computerized brute force, often with devastating results.

The authors are professional penetration testers who have been involved in web application security for nearly a decade. They have presented training courses at the Black Hat security conferences throughout the world. Under the alias "PortSwigger", Dafydd developed the popular Burp Suite of web application hack tools.



Chapter 1 Web Application (In)security.

Chapter 2 Core Defense Mechanisms.

Chapter 3 Web Application Technologies.

Chapter 4 Mapping the Application.

Chapter 5 Bypassing Client-Side Controls.

Chapter 6 Attacking Authentication.

Chapter 7 Attacking Session Management.

Chapter 8 Attacking Access Controls.

Chapter 9 Injecting Code.

Chapter 10 Exploiting Path Traversal.

Chapter 11 Attacking Application Logic.

Chapter 12 Attacking Other Users.

Chapter 13 Automating Bespoke Attacks.

Chapter 14 Exploiting Information Disclosure.

Chapter 15 Attacking Compiled Applications.

Chapter 16 Attacking Application Architecture.

Chapter 17 Attacking the Web Server.

Chapter 18 Finding Vulnerabilities in Source Code.

Chapter 19 A Web Application Hacker's Toolkit.

Chapter 20 A Web Application Hacker's Methodology.


Link to Website Files

Link updated on 4/23/13.