Honoring Research Making Impact: Celebrating the 2019 Nobel Laureates

October 21, 2019 Anne-Marie Green

building landscape of Stokholm, Sweden

Each year, the announcement of the Nobel Prize recipients reminds the wider world of the importance of science and research to our daily lives.  The awards serve the critical purpose of recognizing the previously unheralded achievements of researchers, scientists, politicians and artists on the ground, making the world a better place. At Wiley, we’re proud to once again count several of our authors (and Wiley Prize winners) among this year’s Nobel Laureates.

The Nobel Prize in Medicine

This year’s three Nobel Laureates in Medicine, Dr. William Kaelin, Dr. Peter Ratcliffe and Dr. Gregg L. Semenza, have the distinction of having been awarded The Wiley Prize for Biomedical Sciences in 2014 (with Dr. Stephen McKnight).  Their research is focused on how cells “sense and adapt to oxygen availability” and has wide ranging significance in the field of medicine. As Dr. Ratcliffe put it in 2014, after winning The Wiley Prize, “Low oxygen is a component of most or all human disease: cancer biology, vascular biology, lung biology as well as the kidney biology of arithropoetin production where we started.  We broadened our own interests to encompass these fields, as did others.  Countless other scientists became interested in the pathway which we set about to uncover.”

Between them, all three laureates have contributed articles to a variety of journals published by Wiley, including Angewandte Chemie, Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences, The EMBO Journal, The FEBS Journal, The Journal of Pathology, The Journal of Physiology, and Wound Repair and Regeneration. Some of these titles are published on behalf of learned societies such as the German Chemical Society and the Wound Healing Society.

Most recently, William G. Kaelin, Jr. published “EglN2 associates with the NRF1‐PGC1α complex and controls mitochondrial function in breast cancer” in The EMBO Journal, Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe published “Inherent DNA‐binding specificities of the HIF‐1α and HIF‐2α transcription factors in chromatin” in EMBO Reports, and Gregg L. Semenza published “The role of hypoxia‐inducible factors in carotid body (patho) physiology” in The Journal of Physiology.

The Nobel Prize in Physics

Our evolving understanding of our place in the universe was the basis for this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics, with this year’s laureates awarded for “contributions to our understanding of the evolution of the universe and Earth’s place in the cosmos”.  Half of the prize was awarded to James Peebles “for theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology” while Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz were jointly awarded the other half of the prize “for the discovery of an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star.” James Peebles has published in Journal of Geophysical Research while Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz have each contributed to Astronomische Nachrichten.

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry

This year’s chemistry prize recognizes the creation of something most of us use every day: the lithium ion battery. With uses ranging from cellphones to electric cars, the capacity of these batteries to store wind and electric power could one day make a fossil fuel free existence a reality. The honorees John Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino have contributed to a range of Wiley publications. E. Akira Yoshino authored an Angewandte Chemie article entitled The Birth of the Lithium-Ion Battery which serves as a retrospective and overview of the field. In addition to publishing in a number of Wiley journals including Advanced Materials, Small, ChemElectroChem and Journal of the American Ceramic Society, notably, Goodenough was the subject of an author profile last year in Angewandte Chemie acknowledging over ten articles he’d published in the journal over the past ten years. Goodenough and M. Stanley Whittingham also contributed to the Wiley title Lithium Ion Batteries: Fundamentals and Performance. Whittinham has authored articles in numerous Wiley journals including Advanced Materials, Advanced Energy Materials, Advanced Science, Zeitschrift für anorganische und allgemeine Chemie, and Acta Crystallographica C, B, and . E

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

The transformation and growth of the field of Development Economics, and the resulting impact this has had on addressing the problem of global poverty, is thanks, in large part, to this year’s awardees in Economic Sciences: Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo, and Michael Kremer. Banerjee and Duflo co-authored a volume of The New York Academy of Sciences, Mandated Empowerment. Both have also contributed to the journals Economica  and Economics of Transition and Institutional Change, and Duflo has also published in Econometrica and The Econometrics Journal.  Kremer co-authored a paper entitled Education as Liberation in Economica and has also authored articles in Econometrica, Health Economics, The Journal of Finance, and Economic Record among others.

The Nobel Peace Prize

Abiy Ahmed Ali only took office as Prime Minister of Ethiopia last year, but he quickly demonstrated his commitment to peace, reconciliation, and improving the lives of Ethiopians. He initiated a peace agreement with Eritrea, ending a long-standing stalemate between the two countries, and has helped to mediate other peace talks in the region. While conflict and instability continues, Abiy Ahmed is leading the way toward a better future for Ethiopia and other countries in the region. Learn more about the history of political dynamics in Africa from Negotiating Statehood: Dynamics of Power and Domination in Africa.


The Nobel Prize in Literature


Last year’s Literature prize was just announced this year and awarded to Olga Tokarczuk for “narrative imagination that with encyclopedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life.” Her most recent novel is Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead.  To learn more about Polish literature consult the Virgil Encyclopedia.



And this year’s Literature prize was awarded to Austrian author Peter Handke for exploring “the specificity and the periphery of human existence.” For some analyses of Handke’s work, read  “Haushalten”: The Economy of the Phrase in Peter Handke's Wunschloses Unglück and Poetry, Painting, Patchwork: Peter Handke's Intermedial Writing of Die Lehre der Sainte‐Victoire

Congratulations to this year’s Nobel Laureates and thanks to the Nobel Foundation for the visibility and recognition afforded to the recipients and the entire research community.

About the Author

Anne-Marie Green

Content and Communications, Wiley // Anne-Marie has worked on the marketing and communications side of publishing for over 15 years. In that time, both the marketing and publishing worlds have been turned upside down. She currently serves as Managing Editor of The Wiley Network

More Content by Anne-Marie Green

No Previous Articles

Next Article
Discover Resources to Help You Publish Open Access
Discover Resources to Help You Publish Open Access

Learn more about what's available to you when you publish open access.